Farfield Primary School and Nursery


The Governing Body consists of members of the teaching staff, the Head teacher, elected parent members, Local Education Authority Representatives and other members of our local community.

We aim to provide support the school by providing a range of perspectives alongside those already provided by the professionals employed at Farfield Primary and Nursery School. Curriculum policy is based upon a firm belief in equality of opportunity and we aim to ensure that all the children have equal access to a broad and balanced curriculum as set out in this school handbook and in accordance with legal requirements.

We aim to work with the school and the local community to provide a happy and stimulating environment, where children value themselves and others and where learning and growth can flourish.

School Governors

Chair person: Mrs Baljit Birring (email : This email address is being protected from spambots. You need JavaScript enabled to view it.)

Parent Governors:

  • Ms Susan Gott
  • Mrs Emily Harris
  • Miss Sophie Williams

Staff Governors:

  • Miss Ruth Tomkins

Co-opted Governors:

  • Mrs Moira Smith
  • Mr Phil Lickley
  • Mr Eric Fairchild
  • Mr Mathew Atkinson

Local Authority Governors:

  • Mrs Maureen Holdsworth

Head teacher: Mrs Susan Convery

Clerk to Governors: Tracy Isherwood

The timetable for the six Full Governing Body meetings held during the year can be found here : 2019/20 meeting schedule.

There are three committees who discuss and agree upon specific topics outwith the Full Governing Body meetings. These are :

Finance  & Resources committee - see remit here

Pay committee - see remit here

Declaration of interests - click here